2016 Events at the Museum

The Crockett Museum always serves as our community’s gathering place on Memorial Day. This year, Memorial Day is on Monday, May 30th (it is always the last Monday in May). The Museum will open at 11 o’clock for coffee, refreshments, and a short patriotic program honoring the men and women who died serving our country. It will also be the official opening of  a new exhibit- one honoring a group of men serving in the 211th Coast Artillery unit during WWII (protecting the Mare Island Naval Shipyard and partially stationed in Crockett). The exhibit is called, “We Just Called ’em ‘the Boston Boys.’”  Vallejo resident and author Gary Cullen will stop by that day and sign copies of his new book on the same subject (“The Boys From Boston” is about the men of the 211th, as well, but he concentrates on the Vallejo side of the Strait!). Music will play at Rithet Park from 1-3pm.

For more information about the events listed below or any other items, please call the Museum (787-2178) during open hours or email crockmuseum@aol.com. Event dates are subject to change; come on in and explore the various exhibits on Crockett area history and C&H Sugar Co. on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 10am to 3pm.

Museum Events Upcoming in 2016

Monday, May 30 … Memorial Day Open House

Wednesday, June 1 … Rosie the Riveter Museum field trip

Wednesday, June 8 … Volunteer Meeting, 10:30am

Wednesday, July 13 … Volunteer Meeting, 10:30am

Wednesday, August 10 … Volunteer Meeting, 10:30am

Wednesday, September 14 … USS Hornet field trip

Wednesday, September 21 … Annual Membership Meeting, 11:00am

Wednesday, October 12 … Volunteer Meeting, 10:30am

Sunday, October 16 … Founders Day Celebration, 11am-3pm

Wednesday, November 9 … Volunteer Meeting, 10:30am

Friday, November 11 … Veterans Day Open House

Friday, December 2 … Night at the Museum fundraiser

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.